The Importance of Consistency

Wonsuk Choi
3 min readFeb 7, 2020

--

Consistency by Wonsuk Choi

Every start of the new year, many people have new years' resolution that they want to achieve. It may be exercising, reading, spending more time with family, and so forth.

However, it is very hard to be consistent with the plan. When I visited the gym in January for every year, there were always a lot of people. However, when it becomes February or March, everyone is gone.

The issue here is consistency. Everyone knows that consistency is very important when it comes to achieving your goal. Small actions pile up and creates the success that we desire. But, in order to have consistency, it is also important to have each action as a habit.

Below is a screenshot of my personal Todoist app category that I have set for the past 6 months:

As you can see, my categories are very straight forward. The main category consists of Personal, Projects, and Money.

Every person may have a different category set up. But for me, this is the ideal setting to have my day going.

I put all my personal work into the ‘Personal’ section. Recently, I have started to implement a minimalist lifestyle in my daily life. Which is the reason why I have ‘Online Declutter’ and ‘Offline Declutter’ sub-category.

For ‘Online Declutter’ I put daily repetitive tasks that need to be cleaned every day. This can be organizing photos, organizing desktop backgrounds, removing unnecessary apps, uploading files to the cloud service, and etc. Once you declutter your online space, it is also important to declutter your offline space too.

For ‘Offline Declutter’, again I put daily repetitive tasks such as doing the laundry, cleaning up the workspace, organizing backpack, clothing laundry, removing 1 item from home, and etc.

The tasks are organized in the same matter for the remaining categories. Some may ask how I find these tasks. My answer will be to continuously read medium posts and numerous productivity articles to find the idea.

Once again, categories are should not be set the way I did it because people have different priorities in life. For me, I tend to imagine my ideal self once a while and make sure to pursue each task of becoming the person who I want to become.

It is also important to have your ‘own system’ that works for you

One thing I realized when it comes to consistency is the have your own system. It can be trying out every different todo-list apps, using every different tool for notes, or cloud services that match you with the most. Don’t get me wrong, because some tools that you have never used before might be the best tool when it comes to productivity and work. It is important to try out many different things before you make it into your own system.

My personal plan for the future

Writing this article is a new task for me. It will be added below the ‘Project’ section for writing. I have written several posts on Medium before but I wasn’t able to continuously write every day. From now on, I will be writing a new daily post on Medium.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Wonsuk Choi

2x Top Writer. Professional Risk Taker. I Write About Personal Growth, Productivity, Business, Relationships, Business, and Life Overall.